Friday Link Love

I’m thrilled to hear that it’s finally going to feel like spring in the ‘burgh this weekend.  I’m looking forward to soaking up some sun while I stroll through the Strip on Saturday.  🙂  Once a month, I thought it would be fun to share some links to interesting things I’ve found around the web.  This month, I’m featuring celebrities in the kitchen, all things spring, and – of course – Pittsburgh.

  • Part of the purpose for this blog is to encourage people to support local businesses.  In honor of “National Mom & Pop Business Owners Day,” here are ten reasons to buy local.
  • It seems everyone’s getting excited about food and cooking.  Justin Timberlake is putting an apron over his suit and tie – rumor has it he’s obsessed with baking.
  • Big Bird joins Michelle Obama in the White House Kitchen as part of her “Let’s Move” campaign.  This photo makes me smile.
  • I don’t have a spring cleaning routine, but I couldn’t help but be a bit inspired by this cute video highlighting six ways to ‘Rent-ovate’ your kitchen.
  • Very appropriate for Easter:  The seven health benefits of chocolate.  (Seriously.)
  • Nothing says warm weather quite like “barbecue.”  Texas Monthly hires architect-turned-BBQ-blogger Daniel Vaughn to be its first barbecue editor, a position that exists at no other newspaper in America.  This may very well be my dream job.
  • Many people think of wine spritzers as the stuff women drank at summer barbecues in the ’70s and ’80s.  But according to the New York Times, they’re back in vogue.  I’m motivated to make a Strip-District version this weekend!
  • The promise of spring has me itching to get out and about.  Pop City Media published an article featuring date night ideas in Pittsburgh.  I’m a bit of a science geek, so I’d like to check out the Carnegie Science Center’s Observatory Skywatch.
  • Pittsburgh has been getting a lot of positive press lately.  I share so much of it on Facebook and Twitter that my family jokes I should be named “Ambassador of Pittsburgh.”  The latest good news: Pittsburgh has been included in Forbes Magazine’s List of the Top 15 U.S. Cities’ Emerging Downtowns.
  • And this!  It’s almost baseball season again and I love going to games at PNC Park.  Not to my surprise, TripAdvisor recently named PNC Park “Best Ballpark in America”

Happy Friday!

bunny tongue

