What’s going on here?

After more than a few years away, I am proud to announce that I have recently planted myself back in Pittsburgh.  As an amateur foodie and ambitious home-cook, it was a happy accident upon my return, I found myself living in the Strip District.  After a few months here, I feel that I have yet to take full advantage of Pittsburgh’s culinary mecca.  There is such a rich variety of shops selling fantastic and inspiring ingredients, and I feel like I’ve only just begun to scratch the surface.  So, game on – it is time to spread my cooking-wings and get adventurous!  Italian, Korean, seafood, spices, fresh produce – there are so many cuisines and techniques to explore!  I have listed 25 food stores located in the Strip, and there are also dozens of different vendors at the Pittsburgh Public Market and Farmers at the Firehouse.  Over the course of this blog, I aim to showcase recipes that feature ingredients from each of these wildly different shops…  and (hopefully) live to blog about it… 

PS – If you notice that I have omitted any of the Strip’s beloved food vendors – please  let me know so I can incorporate them into this crazed Pittsburgh challenge.

4 thoughts on “What’s going on here?

  1. I can’t find the list of 25 vendors – Is the Polish Deli on it and the fish market next door. What about Goods – the Asian grocery in the white house across the street from Bar Marco? These are all in the 2200 block of Penn Ave.

    • Hi Maggie, Thanks for the comments! The list of Strip District vendors is located in the right sidebar on the main page of the blog. I’ve included the Polish Deli as well as the Asian grocery across from Bar Marco (I believe it’s called WFH or Wing Fat Hong?) I love the Laptop Butchershop – it’s such a creative concept! I’m glad you brought them up, because I accidentally left them out of my list. This weekend, I plan to highlight some short ribs I ordered from my last Laptop Butchershop order. …I look forward to picking up the pork I ordered from you next weekend – I’ll be sure to introduce myself so you can place a face to the blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

